Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

There is an increasing number of large supermarket chains opening up in many cities. This means that smaller, local shops are running out of business and being forced to shut down. Unfortunately, local communities are at a loss and there are limited solutions. Smaller shops, which tend to have unique and specific products, are essential to local communities. To begin with, local communities have less options when it comes to day-to-day groceries. Therefore, individuals may have to travel further to go shopping and may also not find what they need. Especially in areas where there’s an aging population, as they may struggle to travel long distances. Not to mention these small businesses rely on the local communities to keep their shops open as they struggle to compete against the big chains, usually on price. The main solution is the government can introduce a legislation which limits the number of large supermarkets in a specific area. Therefore, once there is no more scope for another chain to open, it will encourage more local shops to open and compete with the supermarkets. Another way would be to start to tax larger areas on the basis of more pollution. This is because the larger stores attract more vehicles and produce more waste. Moreover, they take a larger proportion of land which can be used for other commercial purposes. Due to this, larger chains will be discouraged to open in areas where there are already other competitors and the tax introduces another barrier to entry. In conclusion, smaller shops are important to our society. Larger chains should not have the economic power to takeover these businesses and regulations should be in place to prevent this from happening.