In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for government. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extend do the advantages of having en ageng population outweigh the disadvantages.

It is true that healthcare advancement and better living conditions have led to higher average longevity. While an ageing population has some drawbacks, I believe the advantages it brings to society are huge. On the one hand, the increasing number of old people is problematic for a nation. First, it creates a shortage of young labour force as more and more senior citizens still work after retirement, and this, therefore, leads to a less innovative, creative and dynamic economy. Second, retirees require a large sum of money for their pensions and subsidies, and this obviously is a burden for governments and taxpayers. Finally, old people are prone to illnesses and ailments and thus need more healthcare services which cost a country a fortune. For example, national resources have to be extracted for constructing and operating more elderly homes to cater to senior citizens On the other hand, an ageing population is advantageous to both family and society. This phenomenon can deeper family bonds, as old members can provide the family with support and care, and can also act as a mental beacon for the young generation. For example, in many countries, grandparents help look after grandchildren and do household chores so that young adults are stress-free to make ends meet. In addition, old people have a stronger emphasis on experience and can be a great source of mentorship. It is common that more and more citizens who want to pay back to society are willing to work as volunteers in many communities and groups to guild the younger generation, and their goodwill, enthusiasm and knowledge can uplift the morale and spirit of young adults. In conclusion, my view is that the rewards of an ageing population do outweigh the problems it causes.