Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Research has shown that the internet access has given us the opportunity to communicate with others worldwide. Most people choose to communicate through the internet rather than sending letters as it occurred in the past. A lot of people support this way of communication while others are opposed. Finally, is the internet a positive or negative development? Firstly, people who believe that the internet is a positive development, logically, use the internet every day in their lives. It helps them to annihilate distances and to have a continual connection with their friends or collaborators. Additionally, it makes them to buy time. For instance, they can video call with a friend while they send an email at the same time. If we go back in time, we will see that this action would take a lot of days or months if we sent a letter abroad. On the other hand, there are those who support that internet development is negative for us. They rely on the fact that social media promotes adverts with low quality and they affect most of us negatively. Moreover, social media has made people's appearances to be in the centre of the world. It is known that everyone wants to be beautiful outside but only some of them take care of their principles like trust and respect. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that social media and, in general, the internet is both a positive and negative development. I mean that if someone doesn't have moderation, they risk losing a lot of productive time in their lives. Thus, of course, we can use the internet for communication or our work, but not for entertainment, because it may be harmful to us and, even more easily, for children who are passive receivers of everything they see or listen to. We should be careful!