Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The lack of discipline among students is one of the current issues in today’s world. However, tackling such a challenge is a controversial topic since some people think it’s mainly the role of teachers, while others believe it is the parents ’. This essay will discuss both opinions and demonstrate why I believe that getting kids to acquire organizational habits is mostly the responsibility of parents. People who think that it is the job of the school to discipline youngsters may claim that children spend most of their day at school, hence, their influence is more profound than parents. However, in my opinion, exposing children to a massive amount of instructions at schools can have a negative impact on them, and make them intimidated by the teaching staff – particularly- at a young age. Indeed, teachers have a great influence on kids nonetheless their main role is to teach children other manners that hardly can be gained at home, such as self-learning and teamwork. On the other hand, parents are the first role models in their children’s eyes, so they should exemplify a pedagogical example. I strongly agree with this view because kids also stay for years at home before joining schools, and if the seeds of good behaviour are not planted well at that stage, fruits will be hardly reaped later. For instance, if both parents are not respectful to others, kids will likely manifest the same manners regardless of how good the school is. Moreover, the parent’s way of guidance and instruction may be less intimidating than anyone else’s way. As a result, kids can be more resilient and more curious to learn. In conclusion, although discipline can be taught through schools due to the enormous volume of time they occupy, this could be alienating to students. In contrast, parents ’ approach could be more affectionate and acceptable, besides the fact that they are the first life mentors.