Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people.

It is undeniable that the life expectancies of people are increasing during the last few decades. This is because of the safe habitats and the advanced treatments for various diseases. Though some people believe that these seniors are a burden for the country, some advocacies still exist on their behalf. In my opinion, I think societies still need the elder public and the way they serve the countries and the families can eradicate the drawbacks. On the one hand, these aged people can work with the government and private sectors. Since they are vastly experienced, they can help the authorities in decision makings. For example, during the corona epidemic, the health department of Bangladesh formed an advisory body to monitor the situation and provide advice. As a result, the number of deaths and infections was relatively low. Additionally, these citizens can be used as trainers in various fields where they will train youngsters. Furthermore, working parents can leave their children with their grandparents at home safely and can save on the cost of daycare centres. On the other hand, some public believe that as the elderly population can not work with the regular workforce and take gratuities from the state, they are a burden. Western countries are paying a lot of money for treatments and food, for example. If the money can be spent on other essential sectors. But since these people had contributed to building the societies, the treatments and other facilities are their rights. In conclusion, there are some downsides to having elders in a great number, but their contributions still can be regarded positively and that's why I completely disagree with the claim.