In modern society, it is possible to go shopping, work and communicate via the Internet without face-to-face contact with one another. To what extent do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The Internet has deeply pervaded our daily lives, with its emerging conspicuous advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, the decline of face-to-face contact has provided the disabled with more working opportunities; on the other hand, the decrease in immediate contact is compromising people's ability to deal with confrontations. The most compelling example is seen in Disney, demonstrating that lacking face-to-face communication will impair individuals' ability to solve confrontations. According to a report from the New York Times, under the pressure of quarantine from COVID-19, the headquarters of Disney was forced to allow its employees to work at home from 2020 to 2022, which, to their managers' panic, led to an obvious increase in anxiety and frustration among employees. When accepting relevant psychological evaluations, they said that without immediate contact, they lacked the motivation to attend to interpersonal issues until they had accumulated to the extent that they were afraid. This phenomenon is considerably widespread during the pandemic, in the light of which, the essay would argue that the Internet to some degree has deprived individuals of the courage and ability to face the complexities of interpersonal issues. Despite this disadvantage, the merit of the decrease in immediate contact is also remarkable. For illustration, as has been mentioned, it has made more working opportunities available to the disabled. In New York where employers have been troubled by exorbitant labour costs, thanks to the common accessibility of the stores to Internet devices, there are increasingly employers recruiting the disabled as remote staff with a lower salary. This will definitely incur criticism that these employers are exploiting the disabled, but if temporarily dismiss so-called "equality", it is easy to recognise that this helps the disabled integrate into society and alleviate the financial pressure of their families. In virtue of this, the decline of immediate contact has its advantages. In summary, the pervasion of the Internet has significantly diminished face-to-face contact, which on the other hand weakens people's willingness to actively deal with conflicts; on the other hand, it offers the disadvantaged, especially the disabled, more opportunities. Hence governments should strengthen their role in ameliorating the situation of the disabled, while taking effective measures to mitigate its adverse effects on interpersonal skills.