Obesity in children is a serious problem in a number of countries. What are the causes of obesity in children? Discuss the possible alarming effects of this problem in the future.

Most nations are facing a grave issue of weight gain in toddlers. This essay will highlight what are the major reasons for obesity as well as the effects of the same on juveniles in the coming years. To commence with, children are becoming obese due to two main reasons. Firstly, children are having an excessive intake of junk food. They usually prefer to eat burgers, pastries and pasta instead of having healthy homemade food. Like, families can be seen going to restaurants on the weekends, where they eat lots of calories leading to weight gain. Secondly, having a sedentary lifestyle is causing weight gain in children. To explain, children prefer to play indoor games these days, which don't involve physical activity leading to obesity. For instance, a survey conducted in the USA (United States of America) revealed that 80 per cent of children choose to remain at home watching television and doing indoor activities which are making them obese. Thus, a lazy lifestyle and junk food are making juveniles obese. Weight gain among children can lead to severe health issues in the future. People at a very young age will be suffering from heart disease. Due to high levels of cholesterol in the blood vessels, juveniles will face heart failure. Furthermore, diabetes will become very common among juveniles in the coming time. To explain, due to obesity, juveniles will be having high levels of insulin in their body which will cause diabetes to them. For example, research in the northern part of India has shown that 60 per cent of obese people are suffering from diabetes and heart diseases. Therefore it can be said that obesity can lead to dangerous diseases. In conclusion, this essay highlighted the causes of obesity among children are junk food and a sedentary lifestyle. It also discussed how obesity can lead to numerous effects on the health of children like it can cause diabetes and heart diseases to them in the coming future.