Nowadays many people read the news online instead of reading newspapers or watching TV. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The need to access to easily and quickly information has become essential nowadays. People have begun to read more and more news online, replacing traditional channels. Nevertheless, whether the trend of consuming online information would be advantageous or disadvantageous has been widely discussed. I absolutely believe that this change will be more advantageous. Nowadays, digitization has become an essential part of our lives and changed our habits and behavior. People have started to prefer web media, because this media has delivered news faster across a variety of platforms, even for free, and in many different languages, therefore people could have access to instantaneous information in different devices that they frequently use. To illustrate, mobile phone is the devices that we use every day at every moment. If we need to search for information in seconds, we can get it and all the topics we want without restriction. Meanwhile, traditional channels have not adapted to the new times, maintaining their old and few interactive formats, losing customers who are moving to multimedia options. Another relevant benefit to consider is the free cost that the news online bring. People can access a variety of information without limit of views and in the moment they prefer. On the other hand, when public uses social media to read news, they could be exposed to fake news and several disinformations because not always the online media have a confident source, and they can use false or alarming news to reach the attention of the public and generate more ranking, publicity or views. Another aspect to consider is that the demand for immediate information leads the media to make mistakes. Creating news that is not well written and far from the standards to which we are accustomed. To conclude, reading the news online can generate some problems, nonetheless, the benefits to access to this way of information provide more opportunities and benefits.