More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that overweight people are more regularly seen everywhere, others said that it is better to raise the price of fattening foods, which could help to overcome this issue. However, I disagree with the hike in the price of those food products. It is sometimes argued that increasing the price of fattening foods may be the most reasonable solution. To begin with, it will discourage people from consuming unhealthy foods, leading to a reduction in obesity rates. For instance, if a bottle of soda costs twice as much as a bottle of water, people may be motivated to select the water instead. In addition, it is a known fact that children are the victims of obesity, and they inherit the condition when they grow up. Therefore, the rise in the price of fattening foods such as fast food or street foods would make them stop or eat less as they have minimal pocket money when they study. However, I strongly believe that increasing the price of fattening food may not be the best solution. Firstly, people may continue to purchase these foods, even at a higher price. This is because fattening foods are often more affordable and convenient than healthier foods. Thus, they continue to consume high-fat food items and ignore their health problems. Moreover, increasing the price of fattening foods may affect low-income individuals. For instance, a low-income family may rely on unhealthy and fast food due to a lower cost compared to healthier foods. If the price of these foods increases, they may no longer be able to afford them and may even be forced to rely on even cheaper, unhealthier food options. In conclusion, while it may be tempting to think that increasing the price of fattening foods is a simple solution, it fails to address the root cause of the issue and may affect low-income individuals.