It's more important for school children to learn about their local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Learning about the past has an important role to play in children’s knowledge acquisition process. While I agree that the young should acquire knowledge from local history, knowing what happened in the past worldwide should not be overlooked, which could be beneficial to them as well. To begin with, the knowledge of local historical education for youngsters can inspire patriotism and national pride which is the major contributor to uniting the whole country together. Stories about what we come from and what achievements the nation had made in ancient times will trigger the young's curiosity and interest in uncovering glorious victories, hardships and unremitting efforts that our forefathers contributed to the country as a result of bonding all folks and cherishing what we have. Furthermore, learning about the past can also help preserve native cultures and rituals, thereby maintaining distinctive features of local regions. For example, the legend of the Dragon Boat Festival cannot only instil a sense of being a patriot into children but continue the way we celebrate the festival generation by generation. On the other hand, the necessity to learn international histories cannot be ignored. For one thing, studying histories worldwide can make us open-minded to have a better understanding of our planet, thus embracing different thoughts, cultures, and traditions. For instance, many conflicts among religions and nations are caused by misunderstandings of their historical facts, which, to a certain extent, would be tackled by studying each other's history. For another, learning about historic events of other countries can widen children's horizons that may be beneficial to their future choices. For example, many students decide to study abroad simply because they are keen to gain deep insight into the customs and traditions of a country. In conclusion, it is necessary for children to receive historical education in both local and world history in contemporary society. There should be no comparison between the two areas of the subject because they contribute equally to the overall development of the young generation.