Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, the population has started to increase around metropolitan cities. The majority of people believe that shifting people to urban areas could be a cause of a negative impact while lowering the population around rural areas. This essay would elaborate what are the positive and negative impacts of increasing the population around cities. I believe that gathering people around the cities would be a negative impact on society. On the one hand, youngsters always searching for modern facilities to enhance their quality of life. Therefore, there is a trend to move individuals towards places which consist of sophisticated facilities such as high-speed internet, modern education and health care facilities. For instance, in Sri Lanka, Colombo is a commercial city which is equipped with top-rated universities in the country. Hence, young students move towards the city with their parents. Accordingly, it is possible to observe drastically increment in the crowd. On the one hand, people who live in the countryside, always face some difficulties such as finding a related occupation. For example, in the rural region, it is difficult to start manufacturing facilities due to the lack of necessary basic amenities such as electricity, water supply and transportation. It leads to generating inadequate industries causing a lack of job opportunities. Additionally, the rural territories run with lower levels of public transportation, and education facilities. Further, healthcare is also at the bottom level. To conclude, in the last decade, urban cities are facing overcrowding issues due to the above-mentioned problems. Moreover, in the recent future, the movement of crowd towards the developed cities may generate sizeable problems for society. Considering the current fact, if possible, the government should implement control measures to overcome this negative effect.