Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It goes without saying that not all household wastes are recycled. With regard to this, although some people argue that the only way to increase recycling is that governments make it a rule, I believe making laws is not the only method and it should be complementary to other ways. A government always can control people ’s behaviour by making legal requirements. If a legislative system makes rules concerning recycling, people will be informed formally about actions and the prohibitions. As a result, they will know if they do not recycle their waste, for example, which punishments are expected. Moreover, people are more likely to avoid a prohibited action if a system officially declares it. In other words, people are afraid to get caught for doing a crime, so they will obey the rules. For example, this method and its results can be seen through Acts and legislations that already exist, like those concerned with murder and burglary. On the other hand, making rules is always neither enough nor successful. Thus, other methods are required. Firstly, a society can teach children that what are the benefits of waste recycling. For instance, predicting some courses related to keeping the environment safe and clear in a teaching system would help. In this way, children will learn about recycling and will continue doing that more passionately, as they are taught and not forced. Secondly, governments should spend more funds on improving some facilities needed for recycling. As an example, putting recycling bins for different types of waste on the streets of a city will discourage people from throwing out their trash and will encourage them to put them in the bins. In conclusion, there are several ways to increase recycling of homeowners wastes and the government can use the laws either as a completing method or the only one to reach that goal.