Television has two roles: to inform and to entertain people. Explain which of these roles you see as more important. To what extent do you think that TV today performs each of these roles in an effective way? Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Once you switch on your television, two possible things await you, either entertaining or informative content. In my view, there is no doubt at all that feeding knowledge to viewers across the world is more important than keeping millions away from boredom. The two of them are delivered to audiences quite exceptionally, if I am being completely honest, and will be explored in detail in the upcoming paragraphs. Indeed, the entertainment industry is a growing money machine, with more and more people avoiding hardships in their lives. Consequently, sitcoms help individuals forget about the negativity flooding their own lives, and simply escape their dreadful realities. However, sometimes that is not the case at all, as it could be a group of friends preparing a long-awaited movie night. Likewise, a family might be having some quality time together, which is encouraged. Either way, the movie industry never fails to impress. Every film is recorded with such precision that it could be referred to as a work of art. The objective to distract, impress, intrigue, horrify, or bring together families is always achieved successfully. On the other hand, I believe acquiring knowledge cannot be outstripped in importance, no matter what. Thus, numerous documentaries and news channels are viewed by millions of people daily. From my experience, documentaries are made interesting in a realistic way; thereafter, two birds are killed with one stone. On top of that, we are truly lucky to have access to news channels, as they keep us aware of the world around us, and any arisen crises. In addition to that, weather-casting determines our plans for the next day, possibly even the next week. Nowadays, danger coming in the form of surprises is less of a concern to most, all thanks to news channels which predict and deliver. Besides, the quality and thoughtfulness of adding sign language never fails to impress anyone. In conclusion, both the entertainment industry and the news delivery industry achieve their goals in the utmost efficiency, undoubtedly. The industries grow greater and greater by the day. Many people connect to their loved ones by bonding in front of the screen. However, I believe the greater importance lies in the news media, since it can potentially save a life. Nonetheless, they are irreplaceable in all aspects.