In more and more countries, people choose to give money on special occasions rather than giving gifts chosen personally.Why might this be the case? Is it a positive or a negative development

It seems increasingly normal to send cash instead of presents for certain events among friends and relatives. Although this is widely accepted with reasons behind it, from my perspective, the trend brings more demerits than merits. The preference for gift money can be attributed to culture and traditions in some cultures that have been passed on for generations, where inhabitants are customed to give bills on occasions such as weddings and funerals. This is based on the belief that money is the best form of support for newlyweds to start a life or show condolence to those who suffer from losing beloved ones. Another reason is that some gift-givers are inclined to offer currencies directly mainly due to the pressure coming from the difficulty of shopping for the perfect presents, which can be notoriously time-consuming but does not necessarily satisfy the recipients. Therefore, more people opt to give money as a present so that they cannot only save time and effort but the receiving party can utilise the capital as per their own will, which may help bear the cost of the party or some expensive items. Nevertheless, we cannot obscure the drawbacks of giving bills as a kind of gift since the form of gifting is impersonal and lack creativity. Compared with a well-thought-out present, cash is less likely to store a lifetime memory and will leave a happy image in receivers' minds, which is, however, what we truly appreciate in significant events. Therefore, this type of giving presents could be perceived as a signal of less care and thought. As a result, the excitement and immediate gratification of tearing boxes and bags simply disappear but this can hardly be substituted by opening a "red envelope" inserted in currencies. Finally, it is not easy to give the right amount of bill on different occasions and for different persons, which may result in resentment and dissatisfaction, as well as place a heavy financial burden on money-givers. In conclusion, the preference for sending cash directly at special events is associated with traditions and the attitude toward saving time and effort, yet this fails to convey intimacy, therefore it shows more harm than good.