Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? In contemporary times, numerous people decide to be a freelancer rather than to be employed by a company or organization. Especially, during the Covid-19 pandemic when many companies implemented a work-from-home approach and reduced employee’s salaries, a huge number of them chose to resign. The aim of this essay is to analyze the reasons why they chose to be self-employed and the disadvantages of being self-employed. Some people believe that being self-employed, such as a freelancer and a business owner, has more freedom and gets more money than being an employee, resulting in, them choosing to be their own boss. On the contrary, working on their own is not a bed of roses and has the following drawbacks. One of the disadvantages of being self-employed needs to take risks of inconstant income. They get unpredictable earnings at the same time they still need to pay bills and their living expenses. For instance, a programmer who gets paid job by job cannot seek a new project, hence, they have to manage and allocate their budget consciously and the worst case is spending from their saving account to pay for rental fees and food. In addition, someone chose to be self-employed to accomplish their dream whilst they didn’t realise that nothing guarantees their success and they have to establish everything from the start. It is universally accepted that being a business owner is not a piece of cake. It requires experiences and consideration in the same way of upbringing a baby. To illustrate, setting up a restaurant requires hiring staff, seeking suppliers, creating recipes, promoting the restaurant, buying furniture and so on. The owner must have relevant knowledge and attend to every detail. However, their business can go wrong whenever due to various factors. In conclusion, to achieve dreams and freedom, a large number of people prefer being a freelancer to an officer. Despite the fact that they will get fluctuating incomes and need to set up everything themselves.