Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that expanding the number of sports facilities is the most appropriate way of boosting the health of the general public, while others feel that this is not a viable solution and believe other steps are needed. This essay argues that although the convenience of having more sports complexes may motivate wealthier individuals to exercise, more people would get fit if the government offered financial incentives. A greater number of sports centres would make exercise more convenient by making facilities more accessible to citizens. People would travel shorter distances to reach them, which would encourage more people to participate. Moreover, the demand for each facility would decrease, so people would wait less time to use them. For example, in,Dublin there are very few tennis courts and people have to book weeks in advance, which can discourage people from playing. However, this essay believes that memberships for sports clubs are often expensive, so they do not appeal to everyone. Instead of building more sports centres, governments should offer financial incentives to motivate people to be healthier. While sports centres may benefit wealthier people, tax breaks would appeal to those who might be discouraged by costly gym membership fees. One way of doing this is by offering tax rebates to those who cycle to work. For example, in the UK, the Cycle to Work scheme provides employees with financial benefits to spend on buying bicycles to cycle to work instead of driving. I believe money can incentivise those who may be reluctant to pay to attend sports centres. In conclusion, although an increased number of sports facilities may influence some people to exercise by making it more convenient, I believe that government initiatives to encourage citizens to live healthier lives would better improve public health