societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation's population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Advances in medical technology and the eradication of killer diseases has increased life expectancy across the globe. However, an ageing population requires more health care, putting an impossible financial burden on many public healthcare systems. In this essay, I will discuss whether I think such costs should be borne by the population. The main argument for sharing this healthcare burden is that it is fair. If we all contribute, the costs are shared, and what’s more even the young will one day benefit from the system, as they too will get old and require more healthcare to nurse them through their old age. There are a lot of merits to this argument as at face value it seems to be an equitable solution. However, in my country at least, it is often the ageing population themselves who have the most disposable income available and therefore are better placed to afford increased healthcare costs. Many young people are struggling financially and can barely afford to even rent a property to live in, never mind buy their own houses. Asking them to fund healthcare for old people under such circumstances is difficult to make a case for. A better solution might be for all to contribute towards healthcare but to have higher taxes for the wealthier members of society to pay for such healthcare provision for those less well-off. In conclusion, I would largely agree that healthcare costs for the aged should be paid for through taxation of the population as everyone will eventually benefit from it. However, I would argue that the amount of tax paid should depend on a person’s own financial circumstances, rather than expecting everyone to contribute equally.