Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Electronic devices, such as computers and mobile phones, have become an integral part of communication today. However, pessimists argue that the increasing use of them has a detrimental impact on the language abilities of youngsters. Generally, I have the same concern. Many young people constantly use acronyms when sending messages on their computers or mobile phones for daily information exchange, and there are software and applications to finish their spelling or correct misspelt words or misused grammar usage automatically. As a result, many of them gradually lose the ability to spell the most commonly used words, and the assisted way of writing leads to the inaccurate use of grammar when they have to compose an essay on their own. Therefore, many of them would suffer from the challenges of the lack of writing competence. Additionally, indulging in computer and mobile phone chatting is time-consuming, which results in less time for reading. What is worse, daily communication on electronic gadgets is likely to exacerbate the development of short attention spans and gradually lead to a loss of interest in reading. Nowadays, it is not difficult to notice that there are not many youngsters who read for pleasure or have the habit of reading. Thus, their reading interest and competence will be degraded in the long term. Undoubtedly, there are websites and mobile applications that can improve the literacy skills of the young in a convenient way. For example, dictionary applications are particularly helpful to enlarging lexical resources; e-books can be appealing to young minds who are not attracted to print media. But unfortunately, the young generation now is more inclined to chat with others to expand their social circle than to develop linguistic ability. Overall, I believe that too much access to computers and mobile phones for the young generation to communicate with each other can indeed exert adverse effects on their capabilities in reading and writing.