Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

An increasing number of people today opt to socialise online instead of meeting in person. Thirtfs choice has drawbacks, and there are several ways to encourage adolescents to socialise offline, which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, some of the most common reasons for teenagers communicating online are the convenience and time it might provide, which are unlimited. Unlike meeting offline, which requires them to spend not only their time, but also their energy, they need a lot of preparation to meet someone, whereas communicating in social media only need their fingers and they can deliver their feelings as quickly as they can. That means that adolescents nowadays do not have more experiences meeting people as they did not want to try something outside their comfort zone, which could potentially decrease their life skills. Consequently, they did not have a well-prepared strategy due to interact with people older than them or important people who will help them in the future. Despite the obvious demerits, there are two strategies in terms of promoting social skills in adolescence. The first is by strengthen the communities. Society ought to provide an entertaining and supporting place concerning something they love, for instance, a well-known muscisian, series genre, until a book club. Secondly, social communities could hold volunteer projects. Unlike the previous reason, this one will touch their heart and move to help others. If they see an advertisement that contain poor conditions, they will do something and be productive. Moreover, they will give something based on their passion, which can thus increase their social skills to another level. In conclusion, while technological advancement has played a pivotal role in the way teenagers interact with each other, it will hinder them from having active life skills, including empathy for others. Therefore, I remain firmly convinced that the drawbacks could be tackled by communities based on hobby and volunteer activities.