For some people, shopping is not just about buying what is necessary, but is a form of entertainment. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the era of digitization, it is very convenient for many people to buy products with just a click of a button. However, in many countries, it becomes entertainment rather than buying things that are really essential. I believe that it has harmful effects such as financial debt and increasing throw-away culture, and this will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. The Internet has really changed the way customers are shopping in recent years. Due to the excessive choices, the populace buys goods that they may not really require at that point in time. Individuals usually do not hesitate to use their entire credit limit and drag themselves into financial instability. Amazon, for example, has millions of products available with the buy now and pay later options which attracts customers to purchase unnecessary things even if they do not require them. As a result, youngsters get into a trap of debt. In addition, limitless shopping can encourage a throw-away culture in society. Nowadays, buying a new phone is not a need but a fashion because of a new trend going on. With every new model, people would like to exchange their handsets without thinking about their financial capacity. For instance, India suffers from a hundred million electronic device waste every year because of this buy new and throw old culture. Ultimately, children also learn this poor spending habit from their parents, which could create a mess in the entire community. To conclude, it is a well-known fact that technology has made people's life very easy but it could be misused by many individuals. In my perspective, people should think wisely before spending their hard-earned money on unnecessary shopping instead they should instil a habit of long-term investing in stocks or mutual funds which can lead to financial freedom.