In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reason for this? How can people research this?

It is getting common in several countries that an increasing number of individuals are fascinated to know about the past of their accommodating properties. The main reason behind it is the curiosity of the dweller. Furthermore, they can investigate it by asking the owner of the building or checking the government records. First and foremost, the eagerness to know about the history of anything often comes because of curiosity. People tend to know about the past information of the building owner or house where they currently reside as well as the purpose of constructing it. Similarly, they try to comprehend any previous remarkable activities or events in the building. In addition, this knowledge about their accommodation gives them a sense of relief that they know everything related to the building. As an example, one of my friends recently moved to an apartment in another city and became curious to know about the building. Later, he found out that the structure was 50 years old, and one of the famous public figures back then used to own it. Hence, It is evident that curiosity is one of the primary factors that drive inhabitants to know about the place they stay. Nevertheless, collecting old information about an ancient structure has become a massive hassle due to a lack of evidence or witness. However, one can ask the property owner or the nearby residents of the local community who have been living there for a long time, as these individuals might have the information of their locality. Moreover, one can look through the local municipality office's data to learn about the local buildings because these organisations must record buildings data of their area. To illustrate, I came to know about the background information of my apartment building by asking one of the oldest neighbours of my locality that, back in time, this building was a government office. After checking the local government records, I discovered it used to be a government bank's headquarters. Later, the building was sold to a landlord, who then renovated it for living. Therefore, despite the struggles, people can research the background of the building with the help of local neighbours and government files. In conclusion, residents' obsession with gathering information about the past of the building they live in is an ordinary scenario in some countries. And it is increasing day by day. Curiosity is the most significant reason that creates a fascination in people about the past of the building they dwell in. And one can fulfil their eagerness by investigating with the support of residents and official records.