Some college freshmen find that the courses they choose are not suitable for them. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve the problem?

Choosing modules is one of the most important decisions a college freshman can make as it will have a lasting impact on their personal and professional life. However, there are some of them who are facing a dilemma in this decision-making process. This essay will analyze why and offer some possible solutions to the problem. Many students become undecided or make the wrong choice when selecting what they really want to learn, which is simply because their decisions are based on emotion or a very limited set of criteria. They may follow their friends or please their parents to choose certain courses without understanding their true needs; they may focus on the less important aspects such as the degree of difficulty for learning, personal development, etc. For example, a great number of students are taking employment opportunities as the only benchmark for choosing modules. Due to the current financial crisis caused by the economic slowdown, it is logical to take job prospects into consideration, but choosers should also weigh the pros and cons in making final decisions according to more factors involved. In order to engage in appropriate modules, freshmen need to equip themselves with self-awareness in the selection, which entails recognizing their interests, personality traits, capabilities and willingness on their own.The more overlap there is among these aspects, the more satisfaction there is in future studies. As a result, they should bear in mind that the demands of the labour market always change with time passing by, which means it is definitely not the only contributor to decision-making. Only with the ability to adapt to interests and growths can someone stand out in their career. For this reason, the key to a wise choice should hinge on the possibility of encouraging students to remain curious, value diversity in opinions, think critically, and communicate effectively. Therefore, learners cannot only enjoy learning those lessons but could seek out the right path in their future careers if they make the right choice. In conclusion, freshmen who are well-informed and self-knowledge about themselves are more likely to satisfy their choices.