Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education, and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Nowadays, especially in a knowledge-based society, the acquisition of a tertiary degree plays a vital role in finding good jobs so some people think that universal university education should be implemented, besides the government should cover higher education tuition of students regardless of their socio-economic backgrounds. In my opinion, I believe that these changes can bring a number of advantages; however, their drawbacks are more significant. It is acknowledged that the availability of tertiary education without tuition fees can have several positive impacts on individuals and society. This is because thanks to such education available, more people have the opportunity to study specialized knowledge, thus they probably enhance their lives with a tertiary degree to get a job with a high salary and it also contributesto contribute to a more educated workforce to countries. Moreover, the provision of free-of-charge education could create a balanced opportunity for all students, especially for poor students who cannot afford to study at university due to prohibitively expensive tuition fees. As a result, these changes may improve the country's economy and bridge the gap between the rich and the poor. However, this line of reasoning is flawed because of the long-term dire consequence on the country’s development of these changes. To be specific, everyone entitled to university will reduce the competition among individuals so it will make them less motivated to try and improve their academic ability to pursue university education. Besides, the free-college policy can cause students who study at university lose the motivation to study hard. Consequently, the bachelor’s degree will lose its value and even the quality of education in university can be affected significantly, resulting in a reduction in the ability of the workforce which has a key role in the development of a country. In addition, the part of the budget allocated to other aspects such as the transport system, economy and health system will be spent on education, leading to tax hikes and social welfare reduction, meaning the standard of living of residents will be affected. In conclusion, I believe that the government should not implement the availability of tertiary education without tuition fees because of its risks.