The level of noise around us is constantly increasing, and is affecting the quality of our lives. What causes the noise? What should be done about it?

Noise is increasing to a high level and becoming a kind of pollution that affects people’s work and life. In this essay, I will analyze the main reasons behind the phenomenon and propose some feasible measures that can be done to tackle this problem. A large number of vehicles on roads produce loud buzz, causing big trouble to those who live close to the road. Things can be worse if drivers honk the horn impatiently. Construction and maintenance work seems to be endless in the city, with various kinds of machines running continuously to resurface the street, widen the road or build subways. In addition, business and entertainment activities are considered to be other major factors of sound pollution. Those out-of-door markets and roadside stalls make a lot of buzz, disturbing residents in the neighbourhood, not to mention night pubs and patio dining areas where they are open till late at night. The disturbing sound from indoor activities can also be annoying. When people have parties or play loud music at home, their neighbours may be tortured by unbearable noisy surroundings. Undoubtedly, measures need to be taken to reduce the level of noise and reduce the repercussion as less as possible. Governments should play a leading role in sound pollution control. Rules and regulations should be set to specify the control level that is allowed in certain areas. Fines should be imposed on those who cause a loud environment. Other measures include encouraging public transport to reduce road traffic, installing soundproof materials in some buildings, etc. As individuals, we should always remember to keep quiet in public places and be considerate of others when staying indoors. In conclusion, no one enjoys living in a noisy environment, where it may pose a threat to both mental and physical well-being, therefore all interested parties should join hands with each other to tackle the issue step by step.