Some people think secondary school students and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How to set up the middle school curriculum has become a major concern in our society. In general, I believe that students should be granted the autonomy to choose either academic courses to enter universities or practical lessons leading to professions such as carpentry. Every year, in many countries, millions of high school seniors apply to college, simply because gaining a degree can significantly increase one’s career prospects in such a competitive job market. Today, most jobs will not offer an internship or even an interview to candidates without certificates. Besides, many careers, such as those in medicine, architecture, and law, are not allowed to engage in this kind of job if they are not qualified for higher education, so the young who have career aspirations in these fields have to receive a tertiary education. Therefore, it is essential for college applicants to learn some knowledge regarding their academic choices in college. As a result, those high-school graduates are able to equip themselves with skills about what they are willing to learn in college On the other hand, although there are a large number of graduates who want to apply for college, the rest of them will go to work directly after graduating from high school. Even if they end up enrolling into a university, they may find themselves in a career that is not personally fulfilling. What is worse, young people are not guaranteed a stable job with a bachelor's degree. They have witnessed examples of those who came before them still struggling to find work while those who have finally landed jobs are underpaid or exploited. Therefore, they should be allowed to study modules for vocational training, where hands-on skills for specific careers will be taught and certain certificates can be earned in a one-year or two-year period. An important but often overlooked fact is that professionals like carpenters, mechanics, and electricians now have a better or at least not bad vocational outlook as they can respond to a more realistic and constant need. Overall, I believe that every student should be ensured of the opportunity to choose, and they need to figure out what they aspire for their future.