Environmental problems are caused by technological development. Some people say that the solution to these problems is for everyone to lead a simpler way of life while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people suggest that technological progress leads to aggregating environmental problems. With the trend of technological progress, people pursue the quality of life which results in various environmental problems. To combat environmental issue, some suggest leading a simpler way of life, on the other hand, others recommend technology itself is a possible solution. Both view will be discussed in the following paragraphs. In my opinion, I support that technology can cope with environmental problem. A simpler way of a life can reduce the desire of people which can alleviate the pressure on water, land, air and other natural resources. Technological enhancement has led to the rise of factories which enables mass production of goods and products in low cost. For example, the factories of fast fashion industries produce affordable clothes. Due to a lower price, people do not think carefully before they buy the clothes and results in wastage. At the same time, lots of sewage have been discharged in the progress of production. With a simple way of life, people will have less desire on clothes, food, travelling and etc.. Hence, with a lower demand on these products, extra waste and pollutants can be avoided. Nevertheless, technology is the key to mitigate pollution. Personally, the merits brought by technology advancement outweigh the demerits brought by it. Firstly, the breakthrough in renewable energy technology e.g. nuclear, water, wind, solar etc. provides the community with sustainable energy supply. Secondly, recycling technology assists in reducing waste. For example, a local environmental activist has built a factory which use worms to dispose food waste sourced from nearby food factories and communities. Thirdly, technology helps to combat air pollution. For example, the introduction of electric car makes the air cleaner in the urban area. To conclude, it is undeniable that technological development has caused some negative impacts on environment. A change in our life style can be a way to alleviate the problem. However, I believe that it is essential to provide a sustainable environment to our future generation through introducing renewable energy supply, curbing amount of waste and air pollutants.