You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

With the popularity of smartphones, information security has been considered an important issue in many countries. Some people state that governments have sufficient reasons to monitor and visit personal phone call information in order to ensure national safety. Diametrically opposed to this, some points think that this could be able to violate individuals' privacy rights without any legal permit. I completely support the back view. To begin with, there is no doubt that modern crimes are less likely to be carried out without the assistance of mobile phones. Once criminals use it to communicate with their partners, it will leave many important pieces of evidence and clues, which can be very useful for policemen. For example, a thief who stole a car has a good chance of contacting a buyer by a cell phone, If policemen can monitor his messages or phone call records, it is easy to figure out the criminal. Furthermore, this is a good deterrence to another individual who wants to commit any crime. Because without these communication facilities, they are less likely to succeed. On the other hand, the presence of smartphones is mainly for the convenience of human life. Most part of people use it for their studies, and work as well as information exchange for business, If governments can visit any information without legal permission, the privacy of individuals will be seriously violated. In addition, some potential risks such as the abuse of personal information, which can cause phone scams, etc. So, governments must build the legal framework for this area to make sure that individual rights can be protected. In conclusion, tracking the records of personal mobile phones can be used to avoid crime for safety. However, it is crucial for governments to guarantee citizens' privacy.