Many people today find that the cost of attaining a University-level education is extremely high for the students and their families. What are the causes of this situation, and how can governments, Universities and the students themselves overcome the problem?

Nowadays, numerous individuals think high-level education from prestigious universities has become more unaffordable. Some reasons are causing this problem and several solutions for it. The primary cause for this issue is that the university operates as a large private enterprise. That is, every company’s goal is to earn as many profits as possible and distribute dividends to their shareholders, who initially invested them to pursue investment returns. Therefore, high education institutions are not charity organizations. While providing good quality education, universities also keep accumulating their fortunes. Moreover, the cost of living has become increasingly expensive as moderate inflation goes on; at the same time, the world’s wealth gap has widened. Thus, it is not difficult to understand why more and more people believe that advanced education costs are expensive. However, although today’s high-level education resources are not as affordable as in the past, some remedies can help improve this issue. Firstly, the government can increase budgets for education subsidies. In other words, if higher education tuition can be more reasonably priced, the country’s highly skilled workforce will increase, boosting the country’s economy and increasing tax revenue. Therefore, it is not bad for the government to spend more on education expenses. Secondly, the university can provide more scholarships to students who accord with their qualifications, attracting more talented people to study. Finally, students also need to take responsibility for their tuition. For instance, tutors and part-time jobs are good ways to increase allowances. In conclusion, like enterprises, universities also aim to maximize their profits, making higher education tuition an expensive investment that is unaffordable for most average families. However, there are still numerous ways for the government, schools, and students to address this issue together or at least make education more accessible.