In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is anticipated that, soon, automobiles will only carry commuters as transportation mediums will be pilotless. Driving vehicles without human beings have some clear benefits, such as non-stop ride and no expense on salaries; however, I think drawbacks like lack of driving judgement as well as vulnerable system cannot be exceeded. Firstly, driving an automobile on an auto-pilot would be a blessing for long routes. This is because there will be no physical driver in the vehicle, so there will be no breaks throughout the trip as machines do not have to rest. Thus, the whole ride can be done ceaselessly with a shorter duration. For instance, An well-known American company, Tesla Incorporation, has been manufacturing cars with built-in artificial intelligence to drive them. It has seen massive success worldwide because people do not have to drive longer as these cars can run on their own until the battery runs out. Moreover, the driver's payment can be saved as we do not have to pay salaries to machines. Therefore, self-driving automobiles can be advantageous for the public. On the other hand, driverless vehicles can cause fatal errors on the road as their system depends on AI to make judgements. In other words, a machine's responsiveness can never be as quick and refined as a human sensibility. Drivers make decisions according to the situation and the consequence, whereas machines will only depend on machine learning. If the machine learning algorithm of the system gets faulty, it can cause many accidents on the highway. For example, If a lorry is running at 40 kilometres per hour, and a child is playing in the road in front of it. In that situation, a human would turn slightly to the road's edge even if the vehicle collides with other things. Whilst, An automated driver might run over the children as it is programmed to avoid crashes at any cost. Furthermore, these Auto-driver featured vehicles can be hacked or controlled easily by an outsider. Hence, It is evident that these downsides are way more superior as well as dangerous than the advantages of it. To conclude, with growing technological advancement, it is not far away that the transportation system will depend on artificial intelligence to drive an automobile. Yet, I believe the advantages of driverless automobiles, like the continuity of driving and the cost deduction, cannot cancel out their disadvantages, such as poor decisiveness and a fragile system.