Some think that hosting an international sporting event is beneficial for a country while others disagree (advantages / disadvantages)

A number of people are of the opinion that nations benefit from championing global athletic events, however, many other members of society disagree. This essay will discuss both angles by providing supporting facts for either option. Firstly, hosting an international sporting event presents enormous economic opportunities for the host nation. Many people from different countries typically troop into the country focal country and they usually come with a lot of money to spend on different things. Another advantage of this is the cultural exchange that goes on. The focal country has a good chance to showcase its culture and way of life to the many visitors. In essence, they put their region on the map by sponsoring such big events. However, it is not all rosy as there are several disadvantages to this as well. One of these is the spike in petty crimes. Due to the increase in the number of people in the country, law enforcement agents are often overwhelmed. This creates an avenue for notorious people to commit petty crimes such as pickpocketing, stealing and in more severe cases, violence. Something else that is seen as a downside is the amount of money that goes into the preparation and planning for such an important activity. It is uncertain whether countries recoup the money spent. In conclusion, there are many arguments on both sides for why a nation will choose to champion a big athletic event. There are many considerations that should go into it. Government and private stakeholders, as well as regular citizens, need to think through all the angles before they decide it is an activity they want to embark on.