Some people claim tobacco has brought social problems and smoking should be banned. To extend do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by a segment of society that tobacco has given rise to social evils that are destroying many lives and hence it should be prohibited. I strongly agree with the statement as it will help to stop health problems and crimes in society. Undoubtedly, there are many health problems which are associated with the consumption of nicotine such as cancer. It is even more dangerous to the health of passive smokers in comparison to active smokers. This not only concerns the commoner's health but also puts a burden on the government's revenue as well. This is because government bodies have to spend a lot on medical facilities to treat patients with fatal diseases. For example, according to the University of Waterloo, the rate of rising diseases like cancer and asthma is higher by 90% in Canada due to active smokers. The other reason that smoking should be prohibited is that it sets a wrong example in society,especially for teenagers who are aware of its negative consequences. They start smoking cigarettes to look mature in their friend circle but after consuming this kind of products, they become unaware and end up committing crimes such as robbery and violence. For example, the crime rate is higher in the USA, where smoking is still permitted in public places. In conclusion, it is necessary to stop social ills by putting a ban on tobacco products for a safe society and for the better health of the community. It is recommended that government should take strict measures.