In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In some cases, undergraduates attend their university whilst living with their families, on the other hand, some students go to colleges abroad. This essay will showcase how the benefits of living away from home during university do not outweigh the disadvantages, which supports the predominant decision to depend on your family while learning. There are indeed various benefits of living elsewhere from home during your university time that can include prioritizing your personal work and space, maturing, and learning to take care of themselves individually, however, it is still not superior to the disadvantages when it comes to comparison. Not being dependent on family figures, students often face financial struggles as they have to afford living places, flats or dorms. This alone significantly adds up their daily cash outflow, demanding higher incomes weekly. It also can be difficult to maintain social communications daily whilst living alone, undergraduates tend to socially distance themselves to shift all their focus to their studies. Furthermore, this unhealthy solitude can result in students giving up on their personal lifestyle and health due to not having close supervision of family members. The effects and results are evident to me as I have my own personal experience on this matter. My older brother who currently is studying abroad faced many challenges overtime-alone, away from family. Facing the need to pay for his own dorm rent as the family could no longer financially provide, he had to work overtime which eventually consumed lots of his energy, resulting in fatigue and a potential decrease in leisure time. Living in a dorm alone, it is extremely difficult for natural introverts to socialize often as normally students transitioning from their high school lives to university lives do not learn the basic skills of efficient and formal communication. Therefore, students who face a whole new environment can feel shocked and overwhelmed, they also face high risks of extreme weight measures as they lack proper active lifestyles, yet it can become much easier if we gain the specific people to support us throughout the journey and give advices when needed. College students in some countries have the advantages of becoming more mature and independent whilst studying abroad without depending on their families back at home. Unfortunately, it still is not prior to the high risks of disadvantages which can include isolation, economic limits, unhealthy lifestyles and more. Therefore, having a supporting family by your side can make students feel fulfilled in the most struggling era of their lives, ultimately inspiring them to overcome their difficulties and challenges together.