Some people believe that schoolchildren should be made to wear a uniform. Others feel that children should be free to choose their own clothes. Discuss both sides of the argument and say whether you agree with pupils wearing uniforms. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It's an often-heard argument whether students should wear school uniforms to school. Supporters claim that they should wear uniforms to show school spirit, whilst opponents say that students should choose what they want to wear to show their personality. In this essay, I will be discussing both sides' opinions and expressing my own thoughts on whether they should wear uniforms. To begin with, I think the people who promote the idea of students should wear uniforms has two main support points. One is that they think uniforms can help maintain school spirit. For example, in my old school, a private school, we had to wear a uniform to institution. My teachers told us that our school values school spirit, if you don't wear the uniform, you are not respecting the school spirit. Another one is that it can save students time to choose what to wear to school. For instance, after I changed school to a public school, I can wear whatever I want, however, it does take me some time to choose my outfit every morning. In contrast, for people who argue that students should not be forced to wear uniforms, I think they also have two primary points to support their argument. First, school is a safe space to express themselves, they should not always be told what to do, and they should develop their own way of judgement, knowing what to wear and what not to wear. Second, school uniforms are sometimes expensive, it usually comes in one set, which means students will have to purchase a set of clothes only for school. It will definitely add some financial barriers to some families. I consider myself on the side of not supporting wearing school wearing as I don't like the fact that we have to spend extra money to buy a set of school uniforms that we won't wear in daily life and I like to choose my own outfit for the day. In summary, the supporters of uniforms might think wearing uniforms can bring students closer and remove the time that students "waste" on choosing their clothing, while the supporters of not wearing uniforms perhaps think that they should express themselves, develop their own judgement and the cost of the uniform is not worthy. Additionally, I withstand the side of not wearing uniforms.