Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Zoos are a place where numerous animals are taken care of thoroughly, mainly for tourism purposes as they are symbolic of our national ecological system. The majority of people have the idea that zoos are an evil place for animals, while some think that it helps to conserve the local endangered species. Hence, I believe there are reasons for the conflict between these two perspectives. First of all, the zoo may seem cruel towards the animals as they are separated from their original habitat. The new place in the zoo for the animals has caused them to feel great stress as they have to adapt to their new environment. This will also lead to behavioural changes in the animal as they are now in a new area, which means they might not be able to survive in the wild anymore. For instant, the Malayan Tiger that is born and grown in the zoo will not get adapted to the wild on its own as they do not possess survival skills. This should be concerning as the animals are not supposed to be kept in a foreign area to them, just for the sake of human business. On the other hand, there is also a saying that zoos actually play an important role in conserving the animals that are listed as endangered on the red list by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN). Most zoos will not only protect the animals by providing them with full resources such as food and great habitat, but they will also try to increase the population of the species through breeding programmes to prevent them from going extinct forever. For example, Zoos in China is trying to increase the population of Panda by making sure each of their offsprings is well-taken care of, as female panda tends to neglect their children after giving birth. Thus, it can be said that zoos are responsible to help the nation from losing its unique animals due to extinction. In conclusion, the existence of zoos plays an important role in conservation and tourism purposes despite some may be disadvantaged to the animals. I think that It actually depends on how the management of the zoo handles its animals. As long as the zoos provide the best environment and conditions for the animals to live without any form of cruelty, only then it is morally acceptable to society.