Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

People have different views about how much choice graduates should have regarding the location of their occupations. While it is suggested that degree holders such as doctors or engineers practice their professions in the same country as their training, I agree with those who think it is one's freedom to choose where to work. There are various reasons why people argue that the limitation of working location is beneficial to the individual and society as a whole. Firstly, as students are bound to work in a particular place, governments can easily keep track of the number of future professionals, which enables sustainable plans for each industry. Healthcare facilities and staff, for example, could be reasonably proportionated, thereby securing the medical service of the nation. Another reason is that language barriers and cultural differences can be huge obstructions for workers, especially if the occupation demands a high level of vocabulary and a considerable volume of communication. The professional performance and career progression of foreigners, therefore, might be significantly reduced. Despite those arguments, I believe that workers should be allowed to work wherever they want. As no one can predict the course of life, there is a possibility that one may relocate to a different country to live. Hence, the above-mentioned policy, if implemented, will require the professional to start from scratch and spend years earning the same degree. This is undoubtedly more time-consuming than working on a second language and exploring a new culture, which renders an argument of this policy's supporters groundless. Furthermore, many people want to acquire in-depth knowledge about a particular field, which might only be possible in other nations, due to the different levels of development across the globe. Those merits are seriously lacking in the opposite world, especially for those who can not afford to study abroad at a young age. Also, I would argue that it goes against the values of a free and fair society to limit the choices and thwart the prospects of a group of people. In conclusion, while in some cases, it might be sensible to require professionals to work where they did their training, I believe that the location of working should be one's own choice.