Many agricultural lands are being converted into commercial centres. How does this affect the environment and the people’s lifestyle? Discuss this situation and provide suggestions to address these issues. Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

With a soaring development of the economy, there is a growing number of lands being replaced by the use of commerce, such as business centres and skyscrapers. These changes can have an impact on not only human beings but also the environment to some degree, while some steps can be taken to tackle this negative trend. From the perspective of the environment, a decrease in agricultural areas may lead to a lack of habitats for a variety of species. Take worms, for example. Worms live in the soil in which cultivates crops, and they also play a vital role to help fertilize crops. If they are forced to leave where they used to live, it is possible for them to find it difficult to survive, which contributes to a decrease in the diversity of species. As for the effects on the human race, the most important impact may be on economics. A decreasing amount of rural places means a higher possibility of the need to import foods overseas, which may cost consumers higher prices to buy things. Crops such as rice, corn, vegetables and tea, require huge places to be planted, if commercial centre supersedes agricultural places, there will leave no place for growing crops. To fight with the problems mentioned above, there are several suggestions that can be taken into consideration. Firstly, governments should have better plans for urban planning, which means that it is crucial to clarify the usage of land. Secondly, setting laws to limit the maximum amount of areas that are able to be reversed to commercial use is also a way to tackle with it. Finally, it is reasonable for governments to increase taxes on business buildings which are built on lands where used to cultivate crops. In conclusion, it is obvious that we need to pay more attention to the changes in how we use land, not only to protect the environment but also to stable the economy.