Some people think the use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are persons who believe that the advent of digital communications has taken the place of in-person communications. I am of the opinion that this is rather exaggerated. First of all, while social media has in recent times, become a preferred method of engaging with people around us, it has not replaced human interaction. If anything, it has fostered it and presented an opportunity for us to make quicker plans with people we want to see in real life. All across social media platforms, there are calls, posters and many other informational content that talk about physical meet-ups. Additionally, another point that reinforces my opinion is that the advent of social media and the internet has made the world "smaller". We are now able to connect with citizens of several other countries with whom we have shared interests. Being able to meet so many people has expanded the pool of people we are friends with. For example, in a personal experience, I met with a few friends from all over the world in a central location last month, these friends are people I met off the internet. To conclude, many people believe that the advent of social media has caused physical meetings to be on a decline, however, with the points expanded above, I reiterate that, if anything, has fostered in-person engagements and thus, it is the reason why I believe that it has not replaced face-to-face interaction.