Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some governments believe that economic growth is their top priority, while some people argue that other kinds of progress are of equal importance. Although progressing in the economy will bring about many benefits for a country, I think that it is not the only factor in the advancement of society. On the one hand, giving priority to economic progression will affect a country in several ways. Firstly, a good and stable economy will create more job opportunities. In other words, it can help a system to reduce the unemployment rate and thus, more people will occupy a job position. Secondly, the government will have more money to spend on public transportation as an important element in modernization. For example, expanding subway lines or improving vehicles like buses need money and the government can only afford it with a good economic status. On the other hand, other types of progress are important as well. First of all, the education system and its quality play an important role in development. People should know about how to live and how to be happy in life besides having enough income. This goal can be approached through learning at schools and colleges. Take China for example, this country is the second most developed in terms of economic development, whereas, with regard to happiness, it is not a high-ranked country. Additionally, taking care of the environment is another vital aspect. For instance, governments should pay attention to their water sources and equal access of people to their recourses. In conclusion, despite the importance of the economy and its progress, the government’s goal should care about other fields equally