2.The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs enormous government expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every city had its history which is represented in many forms such as food culture or historical buildings. Buildings showed the event that undergone and helped us to understand one city better. However, as time passes, people got old and also these representative landmarks age, the structure integrity will be lost. It’s harder to maintain a good state than to build a new one since the major components shouldn’t be lost during the restoration. This costs a large amount of expenses from the government and some argue that the money should be used in new housing and road development instead. In many famous tourist spots, it’s the building that attracts a lot of people to take photos and even travel across the world just to see it with their own eyes such as the Eiffel Tower in Paris and Big Ben in London. The budget spent to repair annually might be enormous but the income bought by the tourism industry also cannot be underestimated. In contrast, travelers usually stay for a short period thus the government expenses should focus on the citizen that might live there for a lifetime long. To let the living environment more comfortable as well as promote the city development, new houses should be built. Roadway buildout advancement encourages the transportation of goods which helps to stimulate the economy. In conclusion, both aspects should have attention from the government and the balance between them determines the positioning of the town. In fact, I strongly agree that authorities should focus on expanding roads and houses to develop a better metropolis.