The English language has become the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

It is widely accepted that the English language is an integral part of our lives and its utility is on the rise. Some people believe that having one spoken language globally could not be beneficial for mankind, whereas others maintain the view that only the most usable language should keep preserved throughout the world. From my perspective, this issue is controversial and both positive and negative aspects need to be considered. On the one hand, it could be argued that there are a great many advantages regarding the use of one language in the world. Firstly, communication and interaction with other human beings would be effortless. Indeed, individuals will not need to learn a foreign language in order to travel abroad or to encounter people with different native languages. For example, students who decide to go to Erasmus will no afraid of misunderstandings and they will not hesitate to visit another place. What is more, speaking one specific language makes the population tolerant of discrimination for the reason that there will not exist idioms and accents in learning speech. Admittedly, if every individual needs to equip themselves only with one language there will not be diversity, consequently, no one will judge anyone. For instance, in this day and present the majority of people tend to judge others according to the country in which they birth, their culture, or even their native language. On the other hand, opponents of this matter draw attention to the fact that one spoken language across the world may entail disadvantages. One problem that cannot be overlooked is that any country would have its own unique identity as well as globalization would be served on the table. To exemplify, it is vital that every part of the world has its own native accent, religion, and flag, consequently, the combination of the aforementioned makes the uniqueness of it. For example, tourists are keen on learning the history behind the place they visit as well as interacting with locals in order to learn using the foreign language, so it will be detrimental for them and they may lose their sparkle for traveling. Another negative aspect of this issue would be that life would be monotonous, anyone would have the opportunity to be bilingual. In particular, lots of individuals have a hobby to learn a foreign speech, so their life would be boring. For instance, travelers, journalists, and public whose job is associated with exploring other planets will lose their interest, therefore the meaning of life. All things considered, I am convinced that speaking a particular dialect on earth can be advantageous considering the effortless interaction with other communities, as well as the reduction of marginalized other human beings, however, the loss of national identity of each country cannot be negligible or that some nations lose their hobbies or the goals of their job.