With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solution can you suggest to deal with this problem?

The rapid progress of social media enables faster communications between people around the world. Among youngsters, social media, for example, Facebook, Twitter, Tiktok, is a part of their daily lives. However, there is potential risk for teenagers to use the social media freely. We have heard heartbreaking news of teenagers who were sexually abused or committed suicide after meeting friends on the Internet. Solutions to minimizing the potential danger will be discussed below. First of all, education is the utmost importance in arousing the awareness of the underlying risk on social media in the teenagers’ communities. For example, the government is recommended inviting social influenzas to make videos or songs to promote the message of using the social media wisely. By doing so, adolescents can become more alert on suspicious social accounts. While it is impossible to restrict youngsters from all access to social applications, raising awareness is one of the ways to avoid tragedies associated with the Internet. Secondly, laws can be enacted to force all citizens using their real names in registering all social media accounts. It is a solution to deter criminals from using fake accounts to find teenage targets online. For example, China has adopted real name registration on the national social media, for example, WeChat and Weibo. This makes the government easier to track illegal activities and potential threats on the Internet and contribute to a safer environment across social platforms. Although youngsters are prone to various dangers involving socializing online, banning them from using social applications is unrealistic. To conclude, Education on underlying threats on social media is a possible solution to raise awareness in the community. At the same time, the government can impose legislations on existing social media accounts. By using these methods, we hope our next generation is free from any crisis on the Internet.