Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes,such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by many that type of punishment should not be discriminated against the age when the criminal is involved in a serious offence such as a violent attack, theft or heist. I strongly opine with the stance and in the following paragraphs, I will explain how punishing young offenders similar to adult criminals will not only decrease recidivism but also, enable the fear factor in society and discourage them to involve in such malpractice which finally, will lead to a logical conclusion. Analyzing the statement and explaining further, youngsters who are involved in heinous crimes, are surely not ready to fit into society due to their irresponsible behaviour. Imprisonment will teach them the lesson in a harder way and might instil feelings of regret in them. Moreover, it will enable the fear factor among citizens and deter their involvement in a punishable offence. Consequently, the crime rate will also be decreased and society become more peaceful. Furthermore, The degree of punishment should be based on the degree of crime and not on the age. Discriminating against offenders based on age might result in an increased rate of crime and recidivism by young people. This is because, they might precept that even if they commit a crime, they will not be charged seriously, and will be more encouraged towards crime and in worst cases, repeat it after getting released from prison. Henceforth, punishing them to the same degree as adults will reduce future crime. In conclusion, young offenders should be treated the same as adults while being punished by the law. It will not only deter recidivism but also enable the fear among citizens' minds to discourage such criminal activities.