To what extent and how should freedom of expression be restricted online

Freedom of speech is considered an essential part of democracy. However, its diversity has resulted in a constant debate about its limits and consequences. Although, online speech helps people to enhance expression, concurrently these platforms can disseminate hate speech, disinformation, and harmful content. The following essay debates the necessity of limitations on online expression. To begin with, freedom of expression means, a legal right for people to express the one's thoughts and views without being subject to fear of censorship or penalty. Moreover, critical debate is a strong background of critical discussions that would not exist without people being able to express opposing beliefs. However, there are limitations, especially on the Internet. Whilst the Internet is commonly seen as a place for freedom of expression, a number of important reasons to provide restrictions to protect individuals and communities from harm exist. Hate speech is one of the main key factors of online expression which may mentally torture people. Restriction of hate speech on the Internet requires a sensitive approach to balance the freedom of expression and safety. Platforms should clarify what counts as hate speech, with a particular emphasis on the content which encourages violence or discrimination based on identity. Getting back to the details, media users may face abuse towards actions and sayings in digital platforms, that lead to horrific results. Hence, many people become victims of media platforms as well and another percentage of people it damaged mentally, by their minds. Moreover, people should make the social environment healthier by staying away from scams, misleading websites and other offensive content. To wrap up, it can be perilous to demonstrate thoughts with the help of social platforms or being a part of it. Thus, users of social media should be aware of pouring out souls and have to restrict themselves by following moral rules. Finally, posted materials on digital platforms are most likely to leave negative footprints in people ’s minds, since it is not always accurate.