Some people say that parents should place restrictions on the hours of their children spend watching TV and playing computer games, and encourage them to spend this time reading books instead. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that the hours spent on a big screen or playing computer games must be controlled; instead, parents should motivate them to read books more. While some people oppose this notion, I partially agree with this idea as youngsters acquire knowledge well on digital items. In the modernised century, parents should restrict the active hours on social media of their children as kids are too young to deal with the misunderstood or bullies in the digital age, they may be confused. In addition, they also suffer from health risks related to their eyes. However, too much time spent in front of a computer or screen can be dangerous to their mental and physical health at the same time. Instead of utilising digital items, books can be an option since children are provided with more knowledge in that way and stay more focused. Therefore, parents must work on the behaviour and activities of their children. Conversely, the current century really requires being aware of computers and screens at every stage of life. Kids also tend to play online games from a young age. Moreover, kids can improve their typing and communication skills when they play on a laptop. Admittedly, now, more and more people can learn things quickly in the electronic version of books, especially by listening to them. Besides that, there are special programs and channels on TV which are specialised for educating children to learn new skills, ranging from language skills such as spelling, listening and speaking to communication abilities. When children gather with online friends on computer games, it really encourages them to socialise more with people all over the world. They also provided information about other cultures and living conditions. Gadgets also offer the latest news on social media. Thus, being aware of how to use online platforms helps people develop their skills. In conclusion, although TV and online games can be harmful in some situations and be an obstacle to being focused on reading books, there are other benefits which outweigh the drawbacks.