Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes,such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The personality and attitude of a person, as well as their ability to effectively interact with others and their surroundings, is dictated by their upbringing. Both giuridical and psycological studies show how teens and young adults who experienced a difficult or abusive childhood find establishing connections and bonds with other people more challenging than their more fortunate peers. Basing on these premises, researchers believe punishing criminal offences committed by teens or kids as harshly as the ones committed by adults to be counterproductive: as a matter of fact, it is proven how a too severe punishment may lead the convict to resent the government and society in general, consequently pushing the person to pursue a criminal profession over a honest one. Psycological consequences aside, we need to keep in mind how children participating in criminal behaviours are, as said before, product of their own environment: data show how the vast majority of young adults committing felonies are actually living in extreme poverty, and poverty is a powerful catalist for gang activity. In most cases, these gangs groom children into committing crimes, in order to use them to execute their agenda. Thus, more often than not young people may be an unassuming participant in criminal plans. In light of this, punishing a child with the same penalty designed for an adult is not advisable, because it erases all these nuances. Rather, it would be advisable to design a reintroduction in society plan for the child, investing in the child's instruction and tutition, as well as their psycological wellbeing. As a result, at the end of the plan the child may have all the tools to find their footing as a young participant in society and interact effectively and honestly with peers, adults and institutions. Moreover, the child may have the competences to conclude their studies and find a fullfilling job in the future.