Some people think schools should not test and grade students. Others think that grades are important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is considered by some people that students should not be tested and graded when learning at school while others hold the belief that assessment on their study is crucial. While the frequent testing systems in schools can spoil children’s childhood, I strongly believe it is essential for helping them overcome the lack of understanding and boost their interest in learning. On the one hand, testing students can ruin the innocent and bright nature of their ages. This is because in order to perform well during the tests, children should devote the time which could have been allocated for more entertaining activities such as hanging out with friends or playing sports to revise their lessons. This can lead to students becoming stressed and discouraged as well as other mental disorders. For example, many Asian students who have grown up not spending much time with their friends and enjoying the world just to prepare for the exams have experienced stress and later on depression. On the other hand, assessing students allows extra support from teachers to take place. By giving students tests, teachers can quickly ascertain the problems their students associate with and therefore provide necessary aid on time. In addition to this, tests serve as a motivation for students to study. If assessment were not to exist, students would not study intentionally and later suffer from tremendous lack of knowledge, since they have no incentive that pushes them to do so. For instance, some secondary institutions in Vietnam after abolishing testing have faced a significant downward trend in lesson absorption among students and had to quickly reinstall the system. In conclusion, whilst students being graded at school may result in a ruined childhood, evaluating them still plays an important role in locating issues regarding students ’ intake of their teachers’ words and encouraging them to acquire further knowledge.