Too little actions have been taken to prevent species of plants and animals from dying out and becoming extinct. Why has the world taken little actions to prevent these? What action should be taken to stop it?

It is an irrefutable fact that many plants and animal species have gone extinct over the years. Having stated that there are not enough actions taken to control this eradication. The underlying causes are lack of awareness among the people however, the solutions include harsh directives. There are many reasons behind the ignorance in protecting the flora and fauna which is endangered. Firstly, history reveals that ignorance and the lack of awareness among the people are prime reasons behind the carrying out of such activities. Secondly, for centuries, countries around the world have always been rushing behind economic and industrial growth. Hence, authorities have misguided the people and diverted their focus to such areas only. To illustrate, there are a few political parties around the world which try to raise awareness, but the majority of the politicians exploited this issue only to earn publicity. Finally, we have always targeted short-term benefits without bothering about the long-term consequences. On the other hand, there are a few steps possible to stop this. To begin with, strict and uniform legislation must be imposed across the world, moreover, to set an example severe punishment must be given to those who break these laws. Furthermore, the importance of such issues must be spread throughout the world. To exemplify, subjects pertaining to the environment must be added to the school and college curriculum so that the students learn the significance of flora and fauna during their academic years. Lastly, industries should be encouraged to produce environment-friendly products that do not exploit nature in any way, plus, they should be given benefits like 'carbon credits' to maintain their green temperament. To put it in a nutshell, we have been ignoring our environment to our own peril and this is due to the absence of awareness and faulty prioritization. Nevertheless, by implementing laws and spreading awareness, we still can make this world a better place to live.