Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes,such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children will be moulded into adults by their parents as well as their environment. Young people who have not yet attained adulthood are often misguided by the surrounding community, influencing them to make bad decisions. I firmly believe that although it would be the teen who committed the act, it would not be right to give him or her the same punishment as adults who are capable of thinking individually. These young minds would not have developed the ability to distinguish right from wrong. Imagine giving a knife to a three-year-old. Either the child would harm himself or others. Who is to blame in this situation, the child or the individual who handed him or her, the knife? Furthermore, what if that teenager was homeless or an orphan, having no means to provide for themselves? Their circumstances would in this case coerce them to rob someone. When a young teen commits a crime, he or she should be discouraged from repeating it a second time. They should be guided and taught moral values and ethics. Thinking from another perspective, the degree of crime committed would be a key factor involved in punishing them. In other words, robbery being a serious crime is questionable if it does not include anyone being harmed. In conclusion, I take my stand against misguided adolescents being penalized the same as adults. This would not be fair and would traumatize them. Rehabilitating them in juvenile centres to stabilize their perspective on society and its laws ensures that they will not repeat the offence.