Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes,such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Juvenile delinquency has raised the public’s attention nowadays since they find it possible that the crimes which teenagers commit may be as serious as adults. Hence, there is an argument that the young should receive the same punishment as adults, but I personally disagree with it. Admittedly, it is widely believed that punishments for adolescents are different from that for adults is unfair. Firstly, as both of them committed the same crimes, they should be punished in the same method. A case in point is that if children committed life-related crimes, such as murder, it is reasonable to punish them by means of heavy sentences. Furthermore, if these juvenile delinquents are easily pardoned in place of punishments, it will be an injustice to the victims. Without punishments, these underage convicts will never understand the damaging consequences of what they have done. Nevertheless, I still suggest that young people are able to receive punishments which are lighter than adults. First and foremost, young people are often unaware of what they are doing, with just copying behaviour that they learned from others such as parents, peers and even on celebrities. They deserve to have opportunities to improve their behaviour and prove themselves. Secondly, punishments should not be the reasons to blow individuals’ confidence but the ways to help them reshape their thoughts and personalities. In conclusion, despite some arguments that punishments for teens’ wrongdoing should be in the same ways as adults, I believe that they can receive different types of punishments.