In many countries, the number of animals and plants is declining. Why do you think this is happening? How can this issue be solved?

It is true that in many countries, the amount of animal species or plants is decreasing. There are many reasons why we are facing this problem, but steps definitely can be taken to tackle this problem. The first and most important reason for this problem is the destruction of forests. Many plants and animal species live and grow in the rainforests; thus, deforestation could have a negative impact on many animals’ habitats. Secondly, many animals become the prey of hunters. For instance, many rare breeds of birds are endangered by extinction in Iran, but a lot of hunters don’t care about it and continue to hunt. Lastly, it is worth mentioning that climate change affects natural habitats. Many faunas could not thrive in harsh and scorching weather. Even though we can’t solve this issue entirely, in my opinion, we can mitigate this problem. There are many steps that can be taken to address this issue. I believe that governments should institute firm regulations against hunting scarce species; also, cutting trees and deforestation should be banned in some places that are the sites of creatures. For example, there are many natural habitats in Guilan state (a state in the north of Iran); many logging industries cut trees and destroyed many green spaces. At the same time, using renewable energies instead of fossil fuels should be encouraged, and industries must invest in these types of energies. Fortunately, many governments and universities around the world allocate a huge portion of their budgets to researching green and renewable energy. In conclusion, many factors could be a reason for decreasing the number of animals and plants. This problem will remain if people and governments don’t take measures to tackle this problem.